Chris & Molly // Calamigos Ranch wedding photographer

©2017 Sun & Sparrow Calamigos Ranch wedding photographer

FROM THE BRIDE AND THE GROOM

What was your favorite moment from your wedding day?

The bride: I spent a really nice morning with the girls in a flurry of hairspray and bobby pins amidst reminders of the fact that that lipstick rubs off when you eat, while the groom tried to stay calm as he fashioned the perfect mustache curl and tried to remember how to tie a tie (note from the groom- it was weeks later that I realised I had forgotten to remove the cardboard inserts from inside the toes of my shoes and had danced the night away with them in place).

The groom: My most nerve-wracking moments were leading up to the first look and hearing the bride’s footsteps behind me, feeling her take my hand, but having to wait to turn around (it was worth the wait). From then on out, after seeing each other we were ready to do this thing!

We both agree that the best of part of the day was standing up during the ceremony and seeing the smiling faces of all of the people that we love (note from the bride- I assume they were all smiling; anyone more than 10 feet away was a bit blurry since I had forgotten to put my contacts in!). We had so much fun during our ceremony- our officiant, our oldest mutual friend, was far more nervous than we were which took to the pressure off. It was wonderful to have one of our best friends up there with us and it was the heartfelt (and humorous) touches he added to the ceremony script that truly set the tone for the rest of evening.

What inspired you while planning your wedding & decor?

We wanted our wedding to reflect who we are and what we enjoy- but classy-fied and rusti-chic. Given our love of camping and adventuring in the outdoors, we felt that succulent florals and a homemade camping diorama cake topper would represent us well. The venue, with the ceremony site set in the trees and the reception room with its cabin/lodge ambiance made us feel right at home. We wanted our guests to feel welcomed and to know how much it meant to us that they were there to help us celebrate.

Do you have any advice for brides who are currently planning their weddings?

As far as advice goes for anyone currently wedding planning: anything DIY times the number of guests will take a lot longer than you think (note from the bride– the hand stamped name tags we made for the escort cards were gorgeous and I loved how personal the end product was…note from the groom– there is a font for that…note from both of us- we suggest you find a balance that works for you).

OUR VENDORS: 
Venue:  Calamigos Ranch  @calamigos_ranch  www.calamigos.com
Coordinator:  Two Tree Events  @twotreeevents  www.twotreeevents.com
Photographer:  Sun & Sparrow  @sunandsparrow  www.sunandsparrow.com
Florals:  Urban Succulents  @succulentlyurban  www.succulentlyurban.com
Invitations:  Paper Source
Rentals (Photobooth):  Fotos On The Go    www.fotosonthego.com
Caterer:  Calamigos Ranch-in house catering
Kosher Caterer:  Pat’s Restaurant    www.patsrestaurantandcatering.com
Desserts:  Tart Bites  @tartbites  www.tartbites.com
Bridal Boutique:  Lovely Bride Los Angeles  @lovelybride  www.lovelybride.com
Wedding Gown:  Anna Campbell  @annacampbellbridal  www.annacampbell.com.au
Wedding Gown Tailor:  A Stitch in Time  @asitbridal  www.asitbridal.com
Bride Details:  Family heirlooms and Anna Campbell headpeice/cuff
Bride Shoes:  Badgley Mischka    www.badgleymischka.com
Hair and Makeup:  Tara Dowburd  @makeuptherapy  www.makeuptherapy.com
Groom Suit:  Klein Epstein & Parker  @keprebels  www.kleinepsteinparker.com
Groom Shoes:  Ted Baker  @ted_baker  www.tedbaker.com
Groomsmen Vests:  Klein Epstein & Parker
Ring Makers:  Family heirlooms and Brilliant Earth wedding bands  @brilliantearth  www.brilliantearth.com
DJ:  Kevin Rosen-Quan    www.tripleastandard.com

FACEBOOKPINTERESTTWITTERINSTAGRAM